Excerpts

Since I’m spending all day writing anyway… might as well post some of my short answer responses.  There are something like 30 questions in total.  Still in rough draft form!

Describe your dream vacation.:
My dream vacation might be atypical, because although sightseeing, scuba diving, and eating caviar on a picturesque beach somewhere would be awesome, I truly just want to immerse myself in a different culture and understand different perspectives.

“The real voyage of discovery consists of not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” – Marcel Proust

 

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and why.:
I would love to see the Great Pyramids of Egypt.  They are a marvel of engineering, focus, and planning, and travelling there is a goal of mine.

Following my dream vacation answer, I would love to understand the cultures of Venice, Japan, Hong Kong, Africa, India, and many more.

 

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?:
When I am 33, I see myself happily married living in a beach house with a relatively large family.  I see myself having started and run a few companies and/or not-for-profits with positive, widespread impact on my communities and the world.  I might have possibly been a volunteer for the Peace Corps with my wife.  I will have my kindergarten and college friends and family over at our house on the weekends.  I will have had enough business experience to become an angel investor and mentor to other budding entrepreneurs.  I will still be dancing, choreographing, snapping photos every day, playing guitar, playing piano, and heavily engaged in the arts.  I will be wealthy – not to boast with status symbols like Mazeratis and Rolexes, but to live comfortably and to invest and donate to organizations, areas, and people who need it the most and who have potential to add massive value to the world.

 

Do you consider yourself to be a leader or a follower? Please give a detailed explanation of why this is true.:
A leader.  Although dancing was and is a huge passion of mine, as I matured as a dancer and choreographer on my team, I was given a leadership role for my dance team in my senior year of college.  Over those two years, my love for leading and teaching superseded my love for dancing.  I love bringing untapped potential out of people and teams and envisioning and executing creative ideas.

Those aspects also led me to UCLA UniCamp and Mentorship, two volunteer programs that allow me to connect and teach teenagers the lessons I’ve learned, and to hopefully lead them to better futures.

The passion to lead also manifests into my career aspirations.  I aim to start a technology company centered around a web/mobile application that will empower people to collaborate on finding solutions to the miniscule and major problems that the world faces.  Although many areas of the world don’t have basic infrastructure, much less internet, over 10% of the world’s population has a Facebook account.  I believe that if we 750 million could divert 5 or 10% of our time online away from wall posts and pokes to contributing our unique knowledge and perspective to someone/something else, the world would be exponentially better.

Leave a Reply

