It’s Been Real, Windows

In accordance with being robbed, I decided to purchase a new laptop since the “chances of ever recovering it again are slim” (said the police officer).

After being a loyal Windows user for over a decade, I have finally jumped ship to Apple.  I don’t really care about that whole Mac vs Windows debate, but I definitely have my reasons for the switch.

1) I got robbed.  This is probably the main catalyst for buying something new.
2) My interests, passions, and career point to some involvement with app development.  Apple does not allow you to develop iOS apps without an Apple machine (Xcode does not run on Windows).  Apple does however allow you to develop everything else (including Android).  This is definitely the main reason.
3) Apple is far less targeted in the scopes of adware developers.  My ex-laptop actually currently has browser-hijacks on it.
4) I only use Mac products at work, and it’s actually not that bad once you get the hang of it.  There’s a lot of power-user tricks that Windows doesn’t really support as readily.
5) A lot of design and business text really hypes up Apple’s aesthetics and creativity.  I buy into it.  There’s noticeably more polish with their product than the rest.

I ended up getting a MacBook Air 13″ with..

1.8GHz Intel Dual-Core Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 2.8GHz
8GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
128GB Flash Storage

It’s way more powerful than my last 17″ laptop, and way more portable.  I also supplemented the tiny ass screen with a 27″ LCD for times when I really need to crack down on tasks.  I couldn’t stomach the extra few hundred for the faster processor upgrade, and frankly I probably won’t even notice the difference.  I also couldn’t stomach over 2k for a MacBook retina, and I honestly don’t really care about the whole increased resolution.  I mean it’s definitely nice to look at, but I can do without.

Again, I am very thankful that I have a decent paying job that allows me to bounce back almost immediately after a small setback.

Leave a Reply

